every day This edition published by Electric Monkey (Egmont Books) 2013, 372 pages

Everyday by David Levithan is part love story, part sexy, part very interesting exploration of barometers of identity, particularly gender. Everyday follows the story of A, who wakes up each day in the body of a different person. A’s philosophy is to leave said person’s life as undamaged as possible for A’s designated duration. This is all going fine, until A meets Rihannon, and wants to be with her everyday.

It is the second David Levithan novel that I have ever read, (the first being The Lover’s dictionary, which was one of my favourite reads of 2013). I haven’t yet read a book that he has written (or part written, I have a couple of collaborations that he wrote with Rachel Cohn) that I haven’t really enjoyed, and his name is often synonymous with quality, so I had really high expectations of this book.

I really enjoyed this book. I found the start quite slow, but it grew to be very immersive. The pacing of this book is one that builds, and, as I got closer to the end, I found it harder and harder to put the book down. I expected a thoughtful, contemplative narrative, which this is to a point, but David Levithan made a good decision to include a storyline (no spoilers) that added a lot of tension, questions and general anxiety to the overall storyline, and it fused beautifully with A’s own love story, and cumulated nicely with an ending that I didn’t see coming, but which made perfect sense.

The nature of the narrative made it so that the book put forward a very positive message about diversity – diversity in gender, race, sexual orientation,etc, and that is always good to see, because it makes stories so much more interesting. And, as cheesy as it sounds, it also managed to highlight how different people are, but also, how eerily similar we are as well.

Overall, it was such a good read, and I thoroughly recommend it! 🙂

